Free Indeed

4 Jul

Happy 4th of July! I really enjoy this time of year for many reasons, cook-outs, time with friends and family and of course the Fireworks!  However, besides all of aforementioned I will be thinking about FREEDOM! I am a child of immigrant parents. My father and mother are from the beautiful country of Trinidad and Tobago.  Growing up I always felt like I had dual citizenship.  My parents came to this country in their twenties. Even though I was born in America, I was very much exposed to my West Indian roots.  I have visited Trinidad many times and it has made my appreciate greatly the benefits many of us Americans take for granted.  Whether you like being an American or not there are just certain things we have liberty in unlike any other country.

It is this Freedom that I am grateful to the many men and woman of the civil rights movement and the servicemen and women of today we fight tirelessly to protect.  However, I am also very appreciative of a liberation I have found in Christ.   As American’s we look at people who live in third world countries, subjected to dictatorships, wars, injustice and such as thing we could never tolerate or imagine.  I have never lived in a third world country however, I certainly know what it is like to live in bondage.  It was a dark, hopeless place. Depressed, bitter no good to myself or to anyone else.  Then in college someone told me about Jesus who loved me even while I was a sinner and that conversation changed my life.  I felt a freedom I never had, ever.

 John 8:36 reads, ” So if the son sets you free, you will be free indeed.”  Wow, that scripture changed my life.  Right then, I knew once Christ broke the chains, I would be FREE never to return(unless I wanted to) to bondage again. I have been living in that freedom more than a decade now.

After the food tomorrow, my family and I plan to take in a fireworks show.  As the red, white and blue fill the sky, I will be thinking of the freedoms we have as Americans, saying a prayer for our soldiers still in harm’s way.  But I will also hold my sparkler towards heaven thanking Christ for setting my free from sin and death… because when you are FREE in Christ, you are really FREE!

In His (super) Grace,

Ro:)

PS. While you are celebrating your FREEDOM, why not enjoy this recipe for a cool summer treat.

http://july.tipjunkie.com/red-white-and-blue-strawberries-patriotic-food/

2 Responses to “Free Indeed”

  1. Denise July 5, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    Freedom….ahhhhhhhh! My word for this year!!
    Freedom is never free… so thankful for all the people who have given their lives for me.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts today and the recipe. YUMMMMMMMM!

    • supermomdel July 8, 2011 at 1:24 am #

      Thanks Denise for the support! Yes, Freedom and the grace to live in it is a wonderful blessing! God bless you.

Leave a Reply

