M is for “Mod Podge”

8 Jul

I love crafts.  Blame my mother.  She encouraged me as a young child by purchasing a sewing machine for me to make outfits for my Barbie.  I had a rare moment today. The male cub(My 1 year old) was asleep, the 3 year old was enchanted with “Arthur” on PBS and my 5 year old was with the Grandparents. Yippee! Let’s CREATE! I knew I had less than 30 minutes, about 1 episode of “Arthur”  to complete a project before my daughter discovered I was not in the room.

The Focus: This “sad” looking letter “R”. I purchased this for my vanity room from Hobby Lobby.  I painted it black to off set the colors in the room but the solid color did nothing for me.  People who know me understand my love for animal print.  I found this zebra print scrapbook paper at Hobby Lobby for .44 cents.

My new favorite thing: Mod Podge which you can purchase at just about any craft store. (SN: This stuff is like liquid gold).  Mod Podge is an acid-free brand of glue produced by Plaid.  The company describes it as “the orginal all-in-one glue, sealer and finish.”  It can be used to both glue something down and as a protective layer over it, instead of a varnish.  I discovered this at my playgroup when we made magnets of  our children(see below)

This project is super easy.  Trust me your elementary school teacher would be proud.  First, take the scrapbook paper and trace the letter with a sharpened pencil(see I told you, your teacher would be proud 🙂 )

Then cut the paper out with a pair of scissors. I also used one of those tiny art knives to cut out the center.   Take your cut-out and use Elmer’s glue, yes the good ol’ glue stick and cover the paper with glue, I also added some to the actual wood letter as well. Make sure once you place the scrapbook paper down, you smooth out the paper with a popsicle set or with your hand to get the air bubbles out.

Now, the next step and the best part. Time to break out the Mod Podge. I use a sponge brush. Do not, I repeat do not soak the paper down but use a liberal amount and brush it across.  Let it dry for about 5-10 minutes. Viola! You got yourself an ultra chic letter.

By the way, when we daughter discovered I was “missing” this project was complete. My 3 year old liked it so much she asked for one. So I had some extra letters, and I used the scraps from my project and made her one.

Now this is a project that a teacher would give you a gold star of achievement.

Happy Crafting

 xoxo Ro:)

4 Responses to “M is for “Mod Podge””

  1. Brittany Leaphart July 8, 2011 at 2:53 am #

    Love this! So creative. I’m like my little sis, though…can I have a B? 🙂

    • supermomdel July 8, 2011 at 4:41 am #

      I knew it. Yes. I can get you a “B” what kind of print would you like? 🙂 smh.

  2. theresa shipe July 8, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    love it! I’ll take an “S”, haha

Leave a Reply

