Good Night & Sweet Dreams?

9 Jul

I am a night owl.  I am more creative at night.  It has been this way since college.  Although many of those nights were not spent studying(Don’t tell my parents) I love the night life.  I have three children so being up in the wee hours of the morning is no problem, not that I really like it but my body is use to it.  However, lately I have found in fact my body is rebelling.  I am no longer a twenty something! Imagine my shock at this revelation(insert laugher here).  My body is feeling it and my family is experiencing it too.  Lack of sleep is making Mama a rather cranky woman.  Right now, I am fortunate if I can get into the bed before 2am! Nope, I can’t blame the children because they have a rather strict bedtime, even during the summer months.  But what about me? Well, once they’re in the bed I am playing catch up.  I run two businesses so I use the time to catch up and plan for the next day.  Then there is spending time with my husband, my own personal devotion time and relaxing which includes Facebook, blogging, etc.  Every night, I make the promise that tomorrow night I am going to bed early. Then tomorrow night comes and I am going to bed the next day.

Today, a friend of mine started her blog(Welcome Crystal to the blog world).  Crystal shared in her blog  Able 2 See(http://able2see.wordpress.com/) about her challenges with NOT being a morning person.  In her personal devotion this morning she discovered this gem of a scripture in Proverbs 8 from the Message Bible.  It reads as follows:

32-36 Blessed the man, blessed the woman, who listens to me,
awake and ready for me each morning,
alert and responsive as I start my day’s work.
When you find me, you find life, real life,
to say nothing of God’s good pleasure.

Thank you Crystal for sharing.  I really like how this scripture reads.  I especially like the part that talks about ” awake and ready for me each morning.”  I can honestly say my current sleep regiment does not have me “awake and ready” for Christ, my family or anyone for that matter.  I realize in this stage of my life I.NEED.SLEEP.  So here I go again at 10:15pm attempting to get some shut-eye before 2am.  Will it happen?  We’ll have to see. (Yawn)

In His (Super) Grace,

Ro:)

PS. Feel free to check on me every now and then to see how my “new” sleep schedule is going.

One Response to “Good Night & Sweet Dreams?”

  1. supermomdel July 11, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    Breaking News: I actually went to bed at 11:30pm last night. I woke up this morning with my body in shock. lol. Can I do it for a second night? We will have to see. 🙂 Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

