Between the sheets

10 Jul

Let me first say I love my husband.  We really have some funny moments. Last night was not any different.  We were having pillow talk. My husband of 6 years was sharing about his day.  I was listening rather intently.  Then it happened.  I ‘m stuck to the bed, I felt wrapped like a burrito.  I could not breathe.  I felt the walls caving in. Ok, not really but it was extremely tight.  I then interrupted my husband and asked him the age-old question.  “Are you under the fitted sheet?”  His answer: “No”, with a laugh.  You see my husband and I are at odds, if that’s what you want to call it.  I make up the bed with all the trimmings… fitted sheet, flat sheet, shams, pillows and comfort.  If he has his way it would be a fitted sheet and a comforter.  I grew up in a house where a bed was never complete without a flat sheet.  My husband thinks they are pointless.  Matter of fact, his response after I busted him was quote “Flat sheets are for women, you always gotta have extra!” Say what Dude?  My husband went on to tell me flat sheets are “pointless, extra work.”  What’s extra? Just peel back and jump in the bed.  Sounds pretty simple to me.

I find it rather funny that my husband rather sleep on top of the flat sheet rather than under it.  It really isn’t a big deal.  However, I will continue to make up our bed with the flat sheet and continue to remind my husband to get under ALL the sheets.  I have been reminding him for the past 6 years.  Meanwhile, I will try to find him a support group of other men who loathe the beloved flat sheet.

xoxo

Ro:)

PS. Enjoy the short video on how to “correctly” make up a bed.  And I would love to hear from you about what’s got your husband tossing and turning at night.

…For so he giveth his beloved sleep.” Psalm 127:2 KJV

5 Responses to “Between the sheets”

  1. Kimberly South July 10, 2011 at 3:08 am #

    i love it …. when we were at MUSC with our daughter, one of the nurses actually told my husband … “are you a professional bed maker?” .. b/c he was very intent on making my sheets on the pull-out bed. 🙂 from that day on, he makes our bed and puts new sheets on every week … WITH the fitted AND flat sheet and hotel-style comforter / Top part … 🙂 Sweet dreams 🙂 ~ Ksouth

  2. Denise July 10, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    I love a freshly made bed.
    (fitted sheet,flat sheet, soft blanket, quilt or comforter, pillows, more pillows, shams, decorative pillows)
    What about my hubs would rather sleep on top of the comforter or quilt? Or if he does decide to get under the comforter… he throws all the pillows on the floor and the comforter off the bed.

    • supermomdel July 11, 2011 at 2:12 am #

      me too Denise! I love crisp sheets… your husband and my hubs sound related. 🙂

  3. Lynell July 10, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    I have to vote with your husband here Ro, I hate a flat sheet as well. We are fitted sheet with a comforter people here. When I do stay away from home the only thing that makes me crazier than a flat sheet is when they tuck it in at the foot of the bed!!

    • supermomdel July 11, 2011 at 2:13 am #

      lol. that tuck at the end of the bed also makes me feel trapped.

Leave a Reply

