A note to my younger self

13 Jul

 I have a 25-year-old friend.  She is funny, bright, full of life, quirky, savvy and beautiful inside and out.  I am older than her.  Therefore, she often calls me Mama Ro.  I am okay with that.  She reminds me so much of myself at her age.  I was the typical 20-something, driven, career-minded, passionate but still trying to find myself.  Who am I?  I don’t miss my twenties at all.  I have discovered as I entered my 30’s I have become more comfortable with me.  Believe it was a long road to get to that point.  Now, I am acutely aware of what still needs to change yet I am so thankful for God’s grace.

I love lists.  I had posted this on my Facebook page of the 25 things I would  have told my 25-year-old self(and my 25-year-old friend).  Since I posted it on Facebook I have tweaked it a bit.  Let me know what you think and please add in the comments section one thing you would like to share. 

 

Here it goes: 

  1. God has a plan for your life. It’s so bright you’ll have to wear shades!
  2. Before I can truly love anyone else I must love me.
  3. Unforgiveness is like drinking poison but expecting the other person to die
  4. Your Prince will soon come!
  5. It is the truth about ME that will set me FREE.
  6. Living in the past cripples my future.
  7. Celebrate ME! (Put a candle in a burger and have at it!)
  8. The mind is the battlefield.
  9. Poverty is more of a state of mind than a position.
  10. You have a gift, the world needs it so what am I going to do with it?
  11. Being alone is different from being lonely.
  12. The greatest riches are not always in the bank but the people who are around you.
  13. My body is my treasure, blessed it the man who receives it.
  14. Whatever you do just be a good steward.
  15. Pray.
  16. Be Still, Rest.
  17. Patience. (all in that order)
  18. If my parents did not do anything right, they have already given me the best gift by just bringing me into the world.
  19. Some times you have to put on your big girl pants and make big girl decisions.
  20. No more drama.
  21. Don’t punish people for what others have done.
  22. Sometimes you just have to take a risk.
  23. Therapy is not a bad thing and if you can’t afford find a listening ear.
  24. Stop asking “Why me?” and “Why not me?”
  25. Love life and live it BIG!
8 Responses to “A note to my younger self”

  1. chmsmont July 13, 2011 at 5:09 am #

    Love this list! I would add…
    – Never miss an opportunity to tell family and friends how much they mean to you!

  2. Able 2 See July 13, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    #10 and #19 are my favorite! I probably would have also told myself to LIVE and LEARN and every situation in life (work, parenting, etc) does not have a perfect formula to it. You just have to trust God.

    • supermomdel July 18, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

      Thanks Able 2 See: I have learned there is no formula rather a blueprint… stick to the blueprint and you’ll never go wrong!

  3. Denise July 13, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    On my list I would add….
    YOU FIND YOUR LIFE WHEN YOU GIVE IT AWAY
    MAKE A DOLLAR EVERYDAY AND SAVE IT (I would have over $5000 + interest )
    LOVE AND SEEK GOD INSTEAD OF A SPOUSE…God will give me a spouse in HIS time
    SET S.M.A.R.T GOALS
    INVEST IN MYSELF
    (Hire a coach instead of a counselor, Tennis lessons, take better care of myself, invest in the cell phone and internet industry)

    But at 38 years old… God has been faithful…and though I would do some things differently, I would not have learned and gained so much wisdom through experience.

    • supermomdel July 18, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

      Denise!!! I love your additions!!! My fav: You will find your life when you give it away… I also agree if I never had those experiences I would never love God and life like I do. Hugs:)

  4. Quan Thomas July 13, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    Awesome List! I may have to read this everyday to remind myself. Also, our young people today need to take hold of this list, because the majority of them are allowing the entertainment world to influence them.

    • supermomdel July 18, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

      great addition Sus. Thank you for sharing!!!

    • supermomdel July 18, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

      Quan: I agree. Too many of the next generation are being sucked in by the “bling life…” Thank you for the support. I am glad you enjoyed it. Love to you.

Leave a Reply

