Mom Caught Behaving Badly

23 Jul

 

Disclaimer: The following is a very important message from this superMOMdel. The views expressed ARE my own and I make no apologies for them.  I warn you I am about to stand tall on my soap box.

I am a Wal-Mart shopper.  I frequent wally-world.  Yet, it never ceases to amaze me what I see at Wal-Mart.  You would think nothing would surprise me that was until a recent trip.  My husband, the children and I were driving outside the Wal-Mart when I heard this exchange.

“How the h$L% we gonna go shopping when you bring the f*&@% diaper bag ?

“What’s the h$L% wrong with you?”

“Are you crazy?”

I know you are thinking this is just another spat between two young lovers.  However, this was the dialogue between a parent and young child. (GASP) One thing I CAN NOT tolerate is a parent cussing at their child, especially in public.  It is humiliating. This mother then proceeded to send the child, who appeared no more than 6 years old back to the car to get the pocketbook.  Really lady?  As you can imagine I wanted to get out of the car and kick the mother.

Listen, I have moments where I yell at my children. I hate it.  But you will NOT hear me cussing at my kids. Nope. Not even the word hell, which some people consider a little cuss word? I did not know there was even such a thing.  Children are a blessing, no matter how they got here or who their father is.  When you use profanity you are speaking a curse, death over their young lives.  When I was in high school my dad cursed at me once because of a really bad decision I made.  I knew he was mad by my choices but yet years later I still remember what he said and most importantly how it made me feel.  I know what you’re thinking.  Well it could not have affected you much you look like you are doing alright.  But it’s the emotional hurt you will never see.

I know being a mom is hard work.  However, we should never punish our children because of our own personal frustrations(I am preaching to myself here too.)  Just imagine if that mother was at her place of employment and her boss spoke to her like she spoke to her children, heads would be rolling.  We think just because our children are small, forgive quickly and “our children” we can treat them anyway we chose. No they are human. They have feelings.  And as parents, it is our job to nurture those feelings. 

 Jesus said, “whosoever shall receive one such little child in my name receiveth Him.  But whoso shall offend one of these little ones which believe in me, it were better for him that a millstone were hanged about his neck, and that he were drowned in the depth of the sea.” (Matthew 18:5-7KJV) 

Ouch! So mom remember that next time you start running a little loose with the mouth.  No need for condemnation, just repent and do better.

For now, this mommy at Wal-Mart gets put in time out and her outdoor privileges revoked!

In His (Super) Grace

Ro:)

2 Responses to “Mom Caught Behaving Badly”

  1. Able 2 See July 23, 2011 at 4:22 am #

    Our thinking is definitely in tune. My next blog is about children. This is the sad state of many children’s daily environment. Your blog was right on point!

    • supermomdel July 25, 2011 at 1:11 am #

      thanks able 2 see. I look forward to reading your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

