I’m EVERY Woman…

17 Aug

Here is a question.  Who is “every” woman?  Apparently, Lexington Medical Center thinks I’m one.  I was recently chosen as a blogger for their “Every Woman Blogger” Campaign.  The contest was looking for women in South Carolina who would be willing to blog about their passions, loves, likes, dislikes and life overall.  You can imagine my excitement last week when I found out I was one of the 10 ladies picked.  Apparently, it was a tough competition.  Lexington Medical Center said in its announcement(see below) only 8 people would be chosen but with all the great entries the hospital decided to pick 10. 

I have only been blogging for a few months.  I actually started for two reasons.  I have always felt like I had something to say.  My family may consider this a blessing and curse(insert laughter).  Seriously, I believe my life is bigger than me.  That statement often makes me think of Rick Warren’s book,” The Purpose Driven Life.” The first line in the first chapter states, “It’s not about you.”  I know without a shadow of doubt we exist for the people we encounter and the effect we have on their lives. Our life is for pouring out, not for reserving.

Secondly, writing is for me.  I know this could be considered a contradiction to my previous statement.  However, it really isn’t.  My sister, Lisa gave me my first journal/diary when I was in elementary school.  She encouraged me to put pencil to paper in order to detail life and my feelings.  That process saved my life in those years as a child dealing with abuse, puberty, depression and low self-esteem.  Matter of fact, a lot of what I know about Christ came from writing in moments of victory and times in of what seemed like defeat.  Writing has always been my form of therapy. 

Right now, my life is pretty busy to say the least.  I wear many hats..too many some days. I am a wife, mother of 3, momprenuer, church leader, daughter, sister, niece, aunty, friend, supporter, counselor and whatever else needed for the day or that moment. 

This blog, SuperMOMdel started out of my own need to tell my story.  But then again my story could really be your story. I have a friend who is a life coach. She is dynamic.  My friend says when she meets with a client who as she says “brings it” she feels more gratified in helping this person discover their passion.  Ultimately, it sparks something in her.   I love the spark that happens when two things connect.  Don’t you?   My hope is you can connect to my writing here at SuperMomdel, somehow a spark’s ignited , it could be the spark that says I am not alone, Wow, someone else is dealing with the same thing,or God really does love me!

Here is what I need from you.  Send ideas, topics or even comments.  I want to not only share my story but your story as well.  Let’s take this journey down the runway of life together!

In His grace

Ro:)

Presenting Our Every Woman Blog Contest Winners!

 

Meet our winners and soon-to-be Every Woman Bloggers!  Our goal was to have eight (8) wonderful women bloggersselected from the Midlands of South Carolina. We ended up with so many amazing candidates that we couldn’t choose just eight.  So we chose ten (10) winners!  That’s right, ten winners!  Below are their contest submissions for the Every Woman Blog.  Make sure to stay tuned for more details so that you can get to know them better.  We can’t wait for them to share their lives with all of us.  Finally, we’d like to say congratulations to all of the women who entered our contest!

3 Responses to “I’m EVERY Woman…”

  1. Able 2 See August 29, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    Congratulations, Roshanda! I’m a little behind, but still excited for you none the less. I can’t wait to see what you’ve got to say. Love you and look forward to reading all your post.

  2. Crissie Miller Kirby September 9, 2011 at 12:06 am #

    Roshanda – it was AWESOME meeting you today! Congratulations and I cannot wait to work with you on this project ~ Crissie Miller Kirby

    • supermomdel September 12, 2011 at 2:43 am #

      Crissie!!! Same here my new friend. It was a pleasure meeting you. I look forward to walking this journey together!

Leave a Reply

