Be Fruitful and Multiply, and Multiply and Multiply…

10 Nov

The Duggar Family: "Children are a blessing from the Lord." Ps. 127

Well no surprise, the Duggar family is at it again! Jim Bob and his wife Michelle are expecting baby number 20, Yes, I said number 20 in April.  And I say, “Goody for them!” Why not? Mrs. Duggar apparently loves children.  I find no wrong doing here.  However, some people do. I am not sure why.  Jim Bob works, matter of fact he is a former state legislator.  The children seem well-adjusted.  From what I have seen on television, they are well-mannered, well-educated and well-rounded.  The Father, Jim Bob appears very involved.  The Mother, Michelle always has a smile on her face, enjoys the large family and has a good handle on what would probably test “my Jesus.” Matter of fact, Michelle’s sister has confirmed her sister always wanted a BIG family. 

What I cannot understand are the people who are highly annoyed, outraged and even questioning why this women would get pregnant again at 45 years of age.  Well, let me set the record straight.  Mrs. Duggar is married, her husband doesn’t seem to have a problem with his rather large family.  They are not on any government assistance, at least that I know of.  The Duggars claim they are a Christian family, why shouldn’t God’s children populate the world?  Malachi 2:15 reads, “Didn’t the Lord make you one with your wife? In body and spirit you are His.  And what does He want? Godly children from your union… There it is in plain writing.  God puts a man and woman together for Godly children.  See there is no set number.  Whether it is one or 21, God just wants to make sure you continue the heritage of Godly upbringing. 

So as the Duggars prepare for baby number 20, I say congratulations!  It is the Duggar tradition to have all the children’s name start with the letter “J” may I offer this suggestion: a girl: Joelle and a boy: Joel.

In case you were wondering here is a rundown of the Duggar Brood: (source TLC/Wikipedia)

  Name Date of Birth Notes
1 Joshua “Josh” James March 3, 1988 (1988-03-03) (age 23) Married to Anna Keller on September 26, 2008
2 Jana Marie January 12, 1990 (1990-01-12) (age 21) Birth via C-section
3 John-David
4 Jill Michelle May 17, 1991 (1991-05-17) (age 20)  
5 Jessa Lauren November 4, 1992 (1992-11-04) (age 19)  
6 Jinger Nicole December 21, 1993 (1993-12-21) (age 17) pronounced like “Ginger”
7 Joseph Garrett January 20, 1995 (1995-01-20) (age 16)  
8 Josiah Matthew August 28, 1996 (1996-08-28) (age 15)  
9 Joy-Anna October 28, 1997 (1997-10-28) (age 14)  
10 Jedidiah Robert December 30, 1998 (1998-12-30) (age 12)  
11 Jeremiah Robert  
12 Jason Michael April 21, 2000 (2000-04-21) (age 11)  
13 James Andrew July 7, 2001 (2001-07-07) (age 10)  
14 Justin Samuel November 15, 2002 (2002-11-15) (age 8)  
15 Jackson Levi May 23, 2004 (2004-05-23) (age 7) Birth via C-section; featured in Discovery Health special
16 Johannah Faith October 11, 2005 (2005-10-11) (age 6) Birth featured in a Discovery Health special
17 Jennifer Danielle August 2, 2007 (2007-08-02) (age 4) Birth featured in a Discovery Health special
18 Jordyn-Grace Makiya December 18, 2008(2008-12-18) (1 years 10 months) Birth via C-section
19 Josie Brooklyn December 10, 2009(2009-12-10) (1 year 11 months) Birth via emergency C-section; featured in a TLC special

So let’s hear it, what do you think about this extra-large family? Do you think it is strange?

In His Super Grace

Ro:)

8 Responses to “Be Fruitful and Multiply, and Multiply and Multiply…”

  1. Able 2 See November 10, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    I LOVE watching 19 Kids and Counting (or should I say 20 kids). Her management, organization, zeal for Christ, and joyfulness is truly a testiment to her faith. To be completely honest, I was shocked when the announcement was made. Reason being was watching all she went through with Josie. Watching your child fight for their life is a feeling I can’t describe. No way do I encourage basing the number of children you have out of fear, but if the number of children attributes to premature birth, I would have to spend some serious time in prayer. That being said, the baby is here, and I pray for a healthy pregnancy and baby!

    • supermomdel November 10, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

      great point Able to see… I too was a bit concerned as I have learned some of the babies were born premature. However, like you I also admire this woman’s zeal. I would like us especially those in the Christian community to prayer for the health of this child, as she or he is already here, not comdemn ths woman with the words of our mouth. God bless you!

  2. beth November 10, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    Great Post! I think we can all learn from Michelle! Jesus clearly shines on her face.
    As far as having so many children especially after her last premature birth, that should be their right. I see so many other women having child after child that live on welfare and most times the father is not around. I know one personally that has 8 and counting! That IS a problem.

    • supermomdel November 10, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

      Thanks Beth for the comment and the beginning dicussion which prompted this blog. 🙂

  3. Rebecca (@rebeccaarouse) November 14, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    Not shocked to hear the news – but shocked for the reasons already stated. what i have loved about them is they seem to be the same family they were in the first season of their show. I love that! core family values, respect for one another, parents that love and care for each other and their family . . . its nice to see that they live what they say. Shes a huge role model for me, and I only have 2! Thanks for the post!

    • supermomdel November 14, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

      Hello all: It was confirmed this week that the Duggar family suffered a great loss, Michelle miscarried baby number 20 affectionatly named Jubilee. Can we please keep this family in our prayers? I personally do not know what it is like to lose a child but pray the find comfort and joy during this difficult time.

      @Rebecca! ditto. It is great to see this woman love children like she does. God for her. I wish her the best!

  4. Eutaqua Faulkner February 9, 2012 at 4:37 am #

    Roshanda, thanks so much for posting this. Honestly, I did not focus alot on the show aspect of your post but the actual scripture that you included Malachi 2:15 opened my eyes as a believer. I’ve always heard about being fruitful and multiplying, but never really seen it as it is written in this particular scripture. Thanks for being used to post this, regardless of your intentions of writing it, I am convinced that it was just for me!!! Thanks sister, I love you and now I will go and be obedient to the word(lol)!!!!

    • supermomdel February 9, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

      lol! Eutaqua thank you so much for your post. I am honored that God used me to speak directly to you. Yes, go be obedient(giggle)! Love you back and more:)

Leave a Reply

