Our Christmas Tree May Boycott

2 Dec

Seriously, what is my problem? Its December and this Christmas Tree is still in the box. (Yes, we FAKE it). Last year, I assured my beloved 7 1/2 footer he would get more face time this year and so far…NADA!  Please tell me I am not alone? Not sure why but I am not feeling very motivated. Every year, I say the tree will be up after Thanksgiving, every year I say we are going to mail our Christmas cards and every year I say shopping will start earlier.  The truth: It has not happened. And I don’t like that. I am a planner yet I feel like I am never ready for Christmas.  In the words of Charlie Brown, Good Grief, It comes the same time every year.

I don’t think I hate Christmas but I don’t really love it either.  I am not sure this IS the most wonderful time of year as the song goes.  People are mean and busy.  We are to celebrate Christ’s birth however it seems overshadowed by such a “bah-hum bug” atmosphere.  Even as I write this post, I think I have figured out my problem, maybe I am boycotting all the fuss of Christmas. Could it be? I have decided I am not going to let commercials, people and those radio stations that have already begun playing Christmas music around the clock to STRESS ME OUT! If the tree doesn’t get decorated until the night before, well at least it is up. I will not get overwhelmed. Afterall, if I really want that tree out the box, I could always call grandma to come for a “visit” she likes to decorate.

So how are you handling what could be a “stressful” time of year?

In His SUPER Grace

Ro:)

 

 

2 Responses to “Our Christmas Tree May Boycott”

  1. Able 2 See December 2, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    I LOVE this time of year! I try to squeeze as much into it as I can. I love the music, the decorations, and the cheery feeling in the air. But sadly, I have noticed it is becoming so commercialized that companies really aren’t trying to hide it anymore. This is one reason my children aren’t allowed to watch cable programming. Not that I’m against it, but I don’t want them seeing commercials. Thank God for DVDs and PBS. I asked my almost 5 year old what she wanted and after a long time she finally decided on Candyland. It was 3.99 at Target. I do realize this won’t last forever, but I’m enjoying the time where she doesn’t associate Christmas with “stuff”. I’ve decided I’m not going to put myself in bondage just so I can roll out a long list of all I got my children to co-workers and friends. In the words of a minister in our church – “It’s Jesus’ birthday not my children’s!”

    • supermomdel December 2, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

      well said. And yes, my children don’t get the whole gift thing either. They are more excited about christmas lights. It really is a fight to not let the culture, what is happening around you consume you this time of year. Happy Bday Jesus!

Leave a Reply

