Freestyle Friday: Hair it is…

27 Jan

Time to get crafty! Here at SuperMOMdel world headquarters we are always trying out new things and even looking at things already done to see how we can make it.  They say imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. Well, all the rage now are hair accessories. I love it. I cut my hair short last year and really enjoy hair pins and head bands.  Most, recently someone very dear to me went au naturel .  I wanted to make her something real nice to celebrate her transition from relaxed hair.

Here is what you need. I found at Michaels these hair pins that had a hallow center where I could add my design. I picked up two different kinds of scrapbook paper so she would have variety, I also put some gemstones, although I never used them, scissors, a pencil and my new favorite thing: Mod Podge Dimensional Magic.

Next, take a plain piece of paper, take the well of the hair clip, trace the center, then cut it out as a model.

Now, pick out your scrapbook paper. I always pick up extra from Michaels when the paper is 5 for 1 buck.  I also had some computer paper that had a really cute border. I took my oval and traced it on the part of the paper which had the most color.

Then it was time for the glue! I used super glue, just a dab with do. You don’t want to use too much that caused the glue to seep through the paper. Another option you can affix the paper to a small piece of cardboard and attach to the inside of the hair clip.

I love shiny things! My dear friend not so much. but I figured just a lil’ bling (flat back crystal stones by Jolee).  When using Dimensional Magic it is VERY important you make sure to have your item on a level surface. I used some sticky notes, clever right?  Here are some other things to keep in mind as well. Make sure NOT to shake the bottle. You do not want air bubbles in your finished product because it will dry that way.  If you find some air bubbles anyway, make sure to pop them. Also, make sure to have the correct room temperature to prevent cracks. 

And finally, my favorite part add Mod Podge Dimensional Magic. Plaid the company which makes this neat product says Dimensional Magic creates faux mosaic, quilt and other textures with added dimension.  It takes about 24 hours to dry.  Once dried take a damp cloth, wipe off project to give a clear shine! My friend Amy from Mod Podge Rocks recommends if after drying you see dips in your project it is okay to add more Dimensional Magic to the area.

There you have it. Will you try it? 

By the way, when I gave my dear friend her new hair pins… she was happy and told me she has to hide them from her daughter.

In His Super Grace

Ro:)

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Freestyle Friday: Hair it is…”

  1. Denise Mock January 28, 2012 at 12:09 am #

    Super super super cute!!!! I love knowing smart and creative people!!! You inspire me!!!

    • supermomdel January 28, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

      Thanks Denise(blushing). I appreciate your support!

Leave a Reply

