Freestyle Friday: Crafting with Purpose

3 Feb
Life’s most persistent and urgent question is, ‘What are you doing for others?” Reverend  Dr. Martin Luther King

Each Friday, I usually post an easy weekend craft project.  This week I am doing something a bit different in hopes that will prompt all my crafty friends to use your gifts to spark creativity while helping women in their next journey of life.  Earlier, this week I shared my love of jewelry making with a dynamic group of women.  The class consisted of 3 women, 1 teenager and a nine year-old girl, all of which whom live in a Transitional women’s shelter about 25 minutes from my home.  I did not know what to expect, I had thoughts about what these women may have gone through.  Honestly, I had prepared myself for the worst but it was nothing how I had imagined.  These women were jovial, optimistic, fun and want to make their own way!  There is no sign of pity, rather the complete opposite that room was full of hope!

I thought the group the basic techniques to make a simple pair of earrings…but three pairs later we were swapping stories, giggling and talking about the gifts God gives us.  At the end of the night the women asked me to come back, next time showing them how to make bracelets or necklaces.   We had a great time.  However, the greatest part of the night for me was sharing how important each woman is to God, His plan for their life and the gifts He has placed inside them.

The Reverend Dr. King  asked an important question, “What are you doing for others?”  I ask you that same question as well. What are you doing to make someone’s life better?  Many times we think that means giving money, clothes, cars or the alike.  But giving of our time one of the most valuable assets can serve as a greater gift. So if you are a crafter why not take some time out of designing and share your gift with the world, you’ll be better for it.

Here are some pictures from this week’s craft time with the women.  Special shout-out to Arts and Crafts store Michaels of Sumter, SC for donating the supplies.  It is so awesome to have corporate businesses that are also community partners. THANK YOU Michaels!

The supplies from Michaels

 
 

Ms. Toni(r) employee at the shelter and "Den Mother" of the group

 

The Finished Product Part 1

Finished Product Part 2

Finished Product Part 3

In His Super Grace

Ro:)
 
Leave a Reply

