Endurance

7 May

A show of hands, has anyone else noticed that losing weight is not easy?  How about when you are over 30?  It is like my metabolism is staging a boycott yelling..”Heck no, We won’t go!”.  I have been on my wealth of health journey since last Thanksgiving.  By now I want the numbers on the scale to say less but the “fat” is slooooowly coming off. And I do mean slow. It’s frustrating.  At times, you almost feel like giving up. My self talk: I could try some quick fad diet and lose record weight in little to no time but what would that do?  For me, taking me right back in the place of never really learning the act of discipline.  If you are a parent isn’t this what we attempt to convey to our children.  No shortcuts, no easy routes, do it right the first time, give it all you’ve got!  Yep, as a mother of three children under the age of 6 years old. I had to swallow my pill today of “easy.”

Two weeks ago was a tough one.  I had an emotional charged situation and instead of expressing how I felt I turned to my old faithful companion:Food. I binged for two days as I processed what I had to deal with.  The hard reality after seven months of doing it “right” I went  back to my old habits.  I was disgusted with myself.  And I could feel it that Monday at the gym.  I felt alone. mad. sad. defeated.  I knew in that moment how a drug addict felt.  I did what I only knew how to do. I prayed. Yes, I prayed about my lack of discipline.  I had to put it on the altar so God could consume my issues with food.  I am encouraged to know God answers when His daughter calls.

In my time I learned a few things: I am not looking for a quick fix.  This is my way of life.  I have gone from never exercising to having a regular workout regime.  It will take time for my body and mind to get use to that.  I need accountability.  I can no longer be the lone ranger.  Just as a new believer in Christ I allowed people to teach, direct and hold me to the fire, I must have that same attitude in this “new” life.  And lastly, I have to renew my mind to food, exercise and my overall health.

My first step was to reach out to my workout partner “Beth” especially when I feel like down a whole case of Oreo cookies.  This is a huge step for me.  I am use to “taking care” of everything for everyone.  To admit I may need some help especially to someone who I am still getting to know made me vulnerable.  I need accountability.  I also decided to speak with someone about nutrition.  I can’t doing all this work and “eating” it back up. And finally, I decided to share my fitness goals with you. I am a transparent person, at least I would like to think so but the following let’s the world know what’s in my heart. (deep breath, so here it is goes)

  • lose 45 pounds
  • better relationship with food and money(will explain later)
  • run/walk in a 5k( a walk or run)
  • mud run (I know I have lofty goals)
  • learn how to swim this summer
  • wear a bathing suit
  • build endurance
  • stick with it

I am so grateful to all of you who send words of encouragement.  Please know I do not take it lightly.  Your encouragement has been the push I needed many days.  Along with the support of “Beth”, family and friends. I can say I am a blessed woman.  There are some “haters” but they only drive me not to quit.  My faith in Christ has been a great asset on those days when encouragement may seem far and few between.  Here are the two scriptures I am quoting this week.  I especially was saying the first during my first ever 6 mile walk/run last week.

But the one who endures to the end will be saved.  Matthew 24:13 NLT

We do not want you to become lazy, but to imitate those who through faith and patience inherit what has been promised.

Hebrews 6:12 NIV

4 Responses to “Endurance”

  1. Marcus Benjamin May 7, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

    Far too many people reject standards and goal setting because they do not want to deal with the feelings of failure, incompetence, guilt, etc. So, they meander through life without goals or standards and “accept whatever the wind blows.” Thanks Roshanda for encouraging your readers to set goals, take risk and have standards. We all need a dose of emotional fortitude!!!

    • supermomdel May 7, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

      I agree Marcus. Too many of us, me included avoid what may seem hard because of the “unpleasant” feeling at the time. We must realize what you do now has far further implications for the future. God bless you!

  2. Able 2 See May 7, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

    Ro, this was the title of the teen class Sunday School lesson yesterday – endurance. Anyway, I feel you. When I hit 30, it was like everything changed. I didn’t expect it to be so abrupt. Anyway, my goal this week is to not compare myself to other people (which I’m guilty of). It does nothing but make me feel like I don’t measure up which I know is just another device satan is using to discourage me. I will tell you though two summers ago I learned how to swim. (I still can’t in the deep, but it’s coming.) I had resigned to living the rest of my life not knowing how to swim and I was okay with it, but my now sister-in-law talked me into taking a class with her. I was so bad the teacher had to put me in the corner and work with me separately from everyone else. That day was the first time I had ever submerged my head under water. By that Thursday, I was swimming even with a broken toe (a completely different incident.) I’m so glad I did. Having a great teacher made it so easy. As far as the bathing suit, get what makes you feel comfortable. My sister in law wears one with shorts over it. I wear the tank-ini top and bathing suit shorts bottoms. Oh and I can’t forget my two layers of swim caps. Yes ma’am two. Feel free to check out my pics on facebook. You’ll have a good laugh.

    • supermomdel May 7, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

      Way to go! I want to learn how to swim as well. Thank you for the encouragement. Btw, I am going to be writing a post deal with comparisons. xoxo

Leave a comment